…and that’s why you always watch a movie twice

When it first came out, Liam and I went to see The Dark Knight Rises. Though we love Nolan’s trilogy a lot, we’re not the hardcore Batman fans who camped out and waited to see the movie at midnight. (For me, that’s Harry Potter.)

I may or may not also make accessories for my friends and I.

So instead of being caught the evening and weekend rushes, we went to an earlier showing on a weekday. And therein lies our mistake.

I don’t know if we just happened to have bad luck, or if all the douchebags come out inthe early evenings, leaving the night showings for the diehards. But I was unprepared for how furious sitting through this movie would make me.

I picked out the best seats in the house, (middle of the middle, obiovusly) and settled in, full of excitement for the movie. Little did I know I was sitting in a trifecta of obnoxious terrors.

That’s right. Talkers behind me on both the left and the right, and a cell phone user right in front of me. Quite frankly I’m not sure how I didn’t explode. I couldn’t focus on the movie at all, and was so filled with rage that when I left I all but hated the movie for no good reasons.

A couple of nights ago, Liam was working a late shift, so I figured that I should give the movie another chance. It wasn’t fair of me to judge it through my anger at the inconsiderate people around me. So I got my ticket, got my snacks, and settled in the theater as close to my favourite seats as I could get, while trying not to get to near anybody.

As the movie started, a girl my age and her mother were stage whispering to each other, so with the absolute most contempt I could muster, I turned to look directly at them and let out a long “SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.” The girl leaned past her mom to glare at me, as if she was completely offended that I had scolded her for talking during a movie, but I just turned back to the screen, and for the rest of the movie they never said a word.

This time around, I loved the film. I couldn’t even remember the things that bothered me the last time I watched it. And when I left the theater, I felt that all was right in the world.

If you’re unsure about your theater etiquette, take this lesson from The Oatmeal.

4 thoughts on “…and that’s why you always watch a movie twice

  1. Red says:

    I totally agree. Movies are meant to be viewed repeatedly. I prefer a matinee when possible. I've been known to take personal time and leave work early to do so.

    And thanks for pointing us to that lesson! I love it.

    Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Yeah, if I can get a chance to go to the first showing of the day, I love it.

    And yes, the Oatmeal is generally genius!

    Like

  3. mark says:

    That's the worst. I used to have a friend that was a movie talker. Did I mention that I used to be friends with this person? We just saw Dark Knight Rises on Labour Day in IMAX. Loved it and Bitsy said it was her favourite of the trilogy.

    Like

  4. Amanda says:

    I have to say, I still prefer The Dark Knight out of the three. Heath Ledger just blew me away. But this movie took a very close second.

    Like

Leave a Reply

experiencenewfoundland.wordpress.com/

Call Matt or John: TOLL FREE 1-800-270-3094

Jess & Jana

We're Always at Somethin'.

Bring The Bread

A Newfoundland-based Food Blog

The SuperHero Satellite

Commentary on Comics, , TV and The World of ProWrestling

