that time I went to Europe: part four – Rome

As my friend Mark suggested a little while back, I am going to start a series of write-ups on my trip to Europe. Really it’s an excuse to share a bunch of my pictures, more than anything. You can find part one here, part two here, and part three here.

Civitavecchia
We docked early in the port town of Civitavecchia, about an hour and a half from our ultimate destination. Wasting  no time, we walked to the train station, ready to settle in on the way to Rome.

This was all I saw of Civitavecchia, but really, did I need to see any more?

The train was packed and I had to stand the whole time, but it was okay, because I was facing a very attractive Italian musician, and even got to chat with him for a little bit.

Sadly, I couldn’t chase the beautiful man around all afternoon, so when we arrived in Rome we all piled out of the train and made our way to the Vatican.

Now, I don’t think I need to tell you that if I were to post even half of the pictures I took in the Vatican, we’d be here all day and your computer might die and then you’d end up hating me and nobody wants that. So instead I’ll just upload a small handful of my favourites and hopefully by the end of all this we’ll still be friends.

On the way in. Everything in this building is pretty. Just everything.
Except this. Part of the Egyptian display.
Gardens!
One of my favourite statues ever.
Playing into my love of Classics studies. Can you name the goddess?
One of the best examples of how elaborate everything here is. Look at that ceiling!
…and this one!
…and THIS one!

So after the museums were said and done, we went to St. Peter’s Basilica. It was huge and elaborate and gorgeous, and my dad and I even shared an emotional moment in a chapel (while Jenn sat awkwardly behind us) and it was beautiful.

There are so many pictures of this place, but to sum it up (and to save you from what we’ve already seen to be my terrible ability to take pictures in churches) I will give you this one picture.

The picture gives you more amazing architecture and less embalmed popes.

After all was said and done, we gunned it across St. Peter’s Square (so as to not spontaneously combust in the heat) and found a lovely little pizza place, where we had the best pizza I’ve ever had in my life.

According to the menu, this is the Trattoria Ciao.
I love simplicity in pizza, which seems to be hard to find here.

After our pizza, we had just enough time to get back to the train station and make our way back to the boat. There was no attractive musician, but I managed to get a seat. So I guess it evened out.

See you soon for part 5: Naples and Pompeii!

2 thoughts on “that time I went to Europe: part four – Rome

  1. […] more than anything. You can find part one here, part two here, part three here, and part four here. The day we docked in Naples, Jennifer and I decided to be brave. Instead of following my family […]

    Like

  2. […] first thing we did was visit the Vatican museums. Although we had been there during our cruise visit to Rome, it was a rushed visit that showed us only a fraction of what was there. This time, we wanted to do […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

experiencenewfoundland.wordpress.com/

WE Plan Smarter SO YOU Travel Further. Speak to newfoundland & LABRADOR's VACATION EXPERTS TODAY 1-800-270-3094

Jess & Jana

We're Always at Somethin'.

Bring The Bread

A Newfoundland-based Food Blog

The SuperHero Satellite

Commentary on Comics, , TV and The World of ProWrestling

